Palakkad was part of erstwhile Malabar District with Headquarters at Kozhikode in the state Madras. Consequent to the reorganization of states on linguistic basis, the entire Malabar became part of Kerala State. After the formation of the Kerala State on 01.11.1956, Malabar District was divided in to three different districts, viz. Palakkad, Kozhikkode and Kannur. On 16.06.1969, Malappuram District was formed by detaching Ponnani and Perinthalmanna Taluks from Palakkad. The present Palakkad district was formed as per GO (MS) No 187/69/Home Dtd.13.09.1969

Palakkad District Police started functioning as per the Government Proceedings SRN 329174/56 Dt. 18.12.1956 with Cannannore district bifurcating from Kozhikkode district. The First Superintendent of Police, Palakkad was Sri. T. K. Bhaskara Marar, who took charge on 10.01.1957. At present Palakkad Police District consists 35 Police Stations, 15 Circles, 4 Sub Divisions, 5 Special Units, and 3 Out Posts.

Last updated on Wednesday 18th of May 2022 PM